Joy of Cooking

Brown stubble without
Green flesh yields to spoon
Divine kiwifruit!

They’re amazing indeed, but all fruit and no meal makes Jack a hungry boy. I have been collecting yummy recipes, but my culinary creativity is flagging. I would love any suggestions for good cooking on a student budget that you might have on the tip of your tongue or nose or some such. Leave instructions or hyperlinks in the comments section!

Yesterday was flippin’ weird. I woke up to falling snow and a parrot in the tree outside my window. Yeah. I got my courses (they call ’em papers here for some reason) approved and met some cool people in the process – Fred and John play Ultimate, Joni swing dances(!), and Lauren is really nice and fun to talk with. Anne and I are both taking Intro to Surveying, and I discovered that Zach’s friend Caroline is taking Religion and Magic with me. I’m also signed up for New Zealand Foreign Policy and Dynamic Earth: Geology of New Zealand. I’m actually looking forward to classes because, let’s face it, dorkiness will always ignore political and cultural distinctions.

~ by Jack on July 6, 2007.

2 Responses to “Joy of Cooking”

  1. I really wanted to send you my mother’s cherry pie and pecan pie recipes, but after much searching, I was forced to conclude that she’s hidden them to prevent their distribution. She’s kind of protective of her cooking. Alas, she didn’t hide the banana bread recipe very well, so you can have that one for now, until I weasel the other two out of her. And even I’ve made this one, so it can’t be that hard:
    1 3/4 cup flour
    2/3 cup sugar
    2 tsp baking powder
    1/2 tsp baking soda
    1/4 tsp salt
    2-3 mashed bananas
    1/3 cup butter, softened
    2 tbsp milk
    2 eggs
    Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease a loaf pan. (How big? I don’t know, it doesn’t say. Loaf-sized, I guess.) Mix 1 cup of flour with remaining dry ingredients. Add bananas, butter, and milk, mixing first on low speed then on high for 2 minutes. Add eggs and remaining flour. Bake 55-60 min, or until inserted toothpick comes out clean (like brownies). Cool for 10 min before removing from indeterminately-sized loaf pan. Extra tasty wrapped in cellophane and eaten a day later.
    There’s also a mighty tasty ‘rack o’ lamb’ recipe in here, so since lamb is so cheap where you are, let me know if you want it. And a cheesecake recipe, which is amazing but really difficult. And a lot of desserts, now that I look at it. Shame I can’t cook; it’s all making me really hungry.
    Now then, what’s this I hear about your acl? You realize that doing goofy things like that without telling me is SO not allowed. You’ll just have to up your communication skills to make up for it. I miss you terribly but do not begrudge you your NZ time–after Chinese, it’s only fair to you. Talk to you later!

  2. Hey!

    Necessity is the mother/father/parent of invention. Give it a whirl! Some concoctions will come out terrible, but some will be divine. You are pretty good with the mixology. Go forward with gusto among the solids and let your senses be your guide!

    On the other hand, there’s that saying about “not wanting to reinvent the wheel…” Why reinvent what others have probably already made, yes? And often recipes appear to be collective human enterprises embodying the wisdom of many shared experiences (i.e., mistakes and successes).

    [I never noticed it, but people have told me my old boss and mentor Jerrry used to say that “there is nothing new under the sun that someone hasn’t already said or done.” Then, no doubt, he said something pithy about this observation, but I didn’t get that part either (sometimes the elevator just doesn’t go all the way to the top)! The first statement sort of leads to something like, “but what can be new or important or interesting is how it’s applied here and now,” but that doesn’t seem profound enough. Besides, it would contradict the first statement. (?!)]

    Anyway, I think Mom’s sent you some recipes outside this blog, and I noticed you rec’d the one above. You’ve probably obtained more from the locals…are there any from home that you particularly have a hankering for? Let me know…

    Finally, responding to this blog has made me conscious of sounding like your Dad in public. Sorry if I’ve embarassed you in any way. Please forgive!

    Keep on exploring!

Leave a Reply

 
